Monday, December 31, 2012

Appointments to the Chinese Poll Tax Heritage Trust

Ethnic Affairs Minister Hekia Parata has today announced three reappointments and five new appointments as Trustees of the Chinese Poll Tax Heritage Trust. The Trust aims to create a heightened understanding of the Chinese community within New Zealand and to strengthen the unique identity of Chinese New Zealanders. The Minister has reappointed Maureen Leong (Hamilton), George Sue (Levin), and Tony Thackery (Palmerston North) for a second term on the Trust. Their terms commence on April 21, 2011 and expire on April 4, 2014. Peter Chin (Dunedin), Esther Fung (Wellington), Stanley King (Auckland), Justine Kohing (Wellington), and Susan Wong (Auckland) have been appointed for a term of three years, commencing on April 4, 2011 and expiring on April 3, 2014. All eight Trustees will bring involvement in the Chinese and poll tax communities, in addition to a mix of skills and experience in governance, community work, business, finance, directorship, language and market gardening to the work of the Trust. The Minister thanked the outgoing Trustees, Dr James Ng, Ron Hoy Fong, Debbie Sew Hoy, Kai Luey and David Wong Hop, for their significant contribution to the Trust. 28 March 2011 - Hon Hekia Parata

No comments: