Thursday, January 19, 2012

Kerry Wong of Masterton

Kerry Wong takes out big Hokonui prize

Relative unknown fashion designer Kerry Wong of Masterton has taken out this year's Hokonui Fashion Design Awards' Award of Excellence.

Wong's collections section entry of three men's outfits took out the supreme prize before a capacity audience of 750 in Gore last night.

It was once again a gala occasion as heartland New Zealand put on the ritz to be wowed by 200 garments, from the sophistication of the nightlife section to the outlandish, as steampunk made its debut on the catwalk.

While Wong's win was a popular one, the designer may still be oblivious to his $12,000 prize package.

Awards director Heather Paterson said Wong was in Australia and attempts to contact him over the last two days had proved unsuccessful.

However, she had spoken to a brother so was hopeful the message had got through, she said.

Wong's garments, in shades of grey and black, were predominantly made of wool. They featured incredible detail and showed outstanding workmanship, Mrs Paterson said.

A collections section entry was responsible for honours in one of the other major awards of the night, the Young Designer Award, which went to Allison Brooks of Dunedin. The Best Southland Designer went to Gore woman Andre Tamblyn.

The debut of the secondary schools section was a resounding success with the creativity of the young designers a standout. The inaugural award of excellence when to Hasting's teenager Hayley Baston.

Detailed results:

Award of excellence: Kerry Wong, of Masterton.
Young Designer: Allison Brooks, of Dunedin.
Southland Designer: Andre Johnson, of Gore.
Knitted award: Helen Marshall, of Invercargill.
Best use of fabric: Eleni Kristea, of Upper Hutt.
Garment with the most commercial potential: Kristin Leitch, Maxine Woolridge and Samara Woolridge, of Auckland.
Streetwear: Angela Ward, of Hastings; runner up, Sarah Holmes, of Southbridge.
Denim: Andre Johnson, of Gore; runner up, Kristin Leitch, Maxine Woolridge and Samara Woolridge, of Auckland.
Wool: Kristin Leitch, Maxine Woolridge and Samara Woolridge, of Auckland; runner up Amanda Donaldson, of Christchurch.
Steampunk: Amanda Hasselman and Kate Scott, of Glenorchy; runner up Jeannie Dyer, of Leeston.
Collections: Kerry Wong, of Masterton; runner up, Eleni Kristea, of Upper Hutt.
Avante Garde: Kerrie Williams, of Motueka; runner up Hannah Shand, of Waikanae.
Menswear: Sarah Odering, Christchurch; runner up, James Bush, of Wellington.
Nightlife: Roberta Davids, of Christchurch; runner up, James Bush, of Wellington.
Secondary Schools Award of Excellence: Hayley Baston, of Hastings.
Steetwear: Gabrielle Sayer, of Rotorua.
Nightlife: Hayley Baston, of Hastings.
Steampunk: Tessa Knierum.
Avante Garde: Lauren Anderson, of Lower Hutt.

- © Fairfax NZ News

Last updated 00:53 31/07/2011

No comments: